Loading...
 
Print

Member Reviews

Member Reviews....Subscribing Member Testimonials

What a great way to communicate with each other and Grupo Vidanta.

Members offering what they like and what they would like to see help parent organizations make decisions that are relevant and meaningful. Such exchanges often lead to improved experiences, interactions and surroundings.

We individuals can best be heard when others having the same ideas voice their opinions too. A community voice adds a bit of weight to the community's ideas.

Capture fleeting thoughts. The time to strike is when the proverbial light bulb clicks on. The trick is getting the suggestion into the system while it is fresh in our minds. Wait too long, and click, the bulb is dark and we move on.

So, now that we have started this not so new idea, let's see if anything comes of it. The idea is to let individuals be heard.....if they want to be heard. Comments are not necessarily limited to Nuevo Vallarta. Please note: Participation is limited to Subscribing Members. You can Subscribe Here if you have not already done so.

Read what Aimfair Subscribers have to say!

2021-04-07 A review of Quarantining at Vidanta’s Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta:

If I were to describe the experience of quarantining at Vidanta’s Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta in one word, that word would be professional. I will say, when it originally came back that I would need to be quarantined, it was quite frustrating, as I was originally told they would take us to Tower 2. After a getting the results, Vidanta did let me get retested to rule out a false positive. The medical staff came directly to our Condo and administered the tests. Once those results also came back as positive for coronavirus, Vidanta again sprung into action, however, this time they told us they were taking us to Tower 6. Tower 6 is a new Grand Luxxe building that is directly connected to Tower 5. Tower 6 features Grand Luxxe Royal Suites, a new style of unit. Photos are attached below. It featured 2 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, a good amount of closet space, but a smaller balcony than other Grand Luxxe units. Staff came directly to our Condo at the Grand Luxxe Punta, cleared the hallways, escorted us to an elevator just for us, then escorted us to a private shuttle that took us directly to Tower 5’s lobby, and then across to Tower 6. When I say escorted, I mean they physically blocked off a path just for us so that other guests would not be near us. Once at Tower 6, we were greeted by our new concierge. He was incredibly helpful, and even gave us his personal WhatsApp. He was very responsive, helpful, and kind to our situation. He was also very attentive, and answered any and all questions within a matter of moments. He helped us with anything and everything from food orders, to daily coffee being sent to us in the morning at a consistent time, to setting up a time for Bell Boys to pick up our suitcases, and so on. We were not allowed to leave the condo, unless it was to pick up housekeeping supplies, toiletries, do laundry, and pick up our food. Those in quarantine are able to use their balconies, but the dipping pool had no water in it.

For food, we had access to a room service menu. The menu was 28 pages, and featured a variety of foods and drinks. We also could use the Vidanta app to pick out and pay for groceries to be delivered to us without any contact. In addition to that, we were able to order Pizzas, and they were promptly delivered to our condo. The food was up to par with the quality of food served at the restaurants. It did however take approximately 30-45 minutes for everything to be delivered, so plan accordingly. That should be expected though, as all the food is prepared as it would be in one of Vidanta’s restaurants.

It is important to note that there was no housekeeping service while quarantining, but there were housekeeping carts that were fully stocked left in the hallway for us to use as needed. The carts had toiletries, fresh towels, toilet paper, garbage bags, fresh sheets, and so on. I will say that each time I opened the door, a security guard peaked around the corner to watch me and make sure I was not leaving the dedicated quarantine area. While that is an understandable measure, it may come off as an extreme measure to some.

Medical staff who operate the testing at Vidanta were also responsive and attentive. They called daily, and also arranged for me to get retested after 5 days had passed from the original test. They came up and administered the test once again in the Condo, emailed results, and also came up again to explain the results. When they came up to administer the tests, they did ask for payment right away, and stated they preferred cash. I will note that with the laboratory, there was some confusion regarding one of my tests, as it listed me at the wrong age. That was corrected once it was pointed out. Miscommunication does happen, but they made sure to fix the issue as soon as possible. I took both the Antigen test, and PCR test, and they were able to administer both directly in the condo. It took anywhere from an hour for results, to 12 hours for results, depending on the test and the time it was given.

Overall, the quarantine experience was professional, all staff were helpful, and the service was up to par with the typical Grand Luxxe experience. Quarantining is not ideal, however, they helped make the experience about as good as it could be.

Sam


2021-02-18 The following is from a Vidanta employee:

Good Morning Everyone

Hope all are well and staying safe.

Vidanta and hotel operations has hit an high in occupancy post -covid this week. This is no surprise as President's week is traditionally one of the most popular weeks in our calendar year. What is surprising is the extended stays and lack of children. I am seeing more clients enjoying longer stays. Clients that would come for two or three weeks have chosen to stay (sometimes) months. Families with small children have been conspicuously absent for obvious reasons.

This past weekend I played tourist because my brother in law was here. Mar had us going non stop for the weekend. Sayulita was full of Nationals and tourists from the United States. FULL!

Then to PIPIs restaurant which was empty but loud. Next day, back to the Malecon where there were plenty of people enjoying the sunny weather. The highlight of the weekend was out tour with Vallarta Adventures where we went to Isla Mujeras and Mahajuitas Beach. The whales were not concerned with the current Virus situation as they were spotted in abundance.Lastly. as I went to work, My guests went to the resort(for the first time) and totally enjoyed the lazy river, cafe del lago and beach. It was nice to hear that through the eyes of a newby.

Construction in the Park continues full force. As the gondola goes over the Park, you can spot 1000 construction workers and countless trucks moving dirt. It really is amazing the progress. You can now see progress on the buildings in the Park. The Cirque Theater is starting to take shape. Those disbelievers will be silenced with the amount of progress.

Thats all for now.
I look forward to your next visit.

Be Safe everyone.


2021-02-16 My wife and I had reservations for Jan 29, 2021 to Feb. 12, 2021 and on Jan. 15 I called Customer Care Center with a question about our reservations. At that time I was told that they have a new PrePay Promo and said that if I paid $1,000 to cover services charged during our stay, Vidanta would give us an additional resort credit in the amount of $150 to use during our vacation. A week later I had occasion to call again regarding our vacation and I was asked if I would like to add an additional $150 to our resort credit, so I said sure. Little did I realize that it went with an additional payment of $1,000.

Upon checkout at the end of our stay, I was surprised to learn that I had accumulated a resort credit of $2,300 (2 x $1,000 + 2 x $150) and had only spent a total of $1,430 and an unused balance of $870. To my surprise, this unused balance was not refundable and belonged to Vidanta!

In conversation with a Customer Care Center rep today (after our return home), I learned that we did not have to agree to have any additional amount of $ to be added to our account. If I had done that, I would have had to pay an additional $280 at the time of checkout; instead, I left 4870 on the table. Live and learn!


2021-02-16 My wife and I just returned from a 2 week stay at the Grand Luxxe, NV. We were in GL Tower 3 on the 8th floor. I requested this reservation from Customer Service one week before arrival and was very pleased with the assignment. The resort was less than 30% occupied so we experienced no crowds at any of the pools, restaurants, shuttles or when walking about the campus. Only about half the restaurants were open and we had to make a reservation daily via the concierge; no walk-ins accepted. The former Punta Arana has been rebuilt and enlarged and is called the Puerto Majar, very nice. We asked the concierge to tell what restaurants were open each day to make reservations. Havana Moon is closed and being rebuilt. Tramonto was closed; Samba is only open til 6 PM. The beach area between the old Havana Moon and Puerto Majar is being reconstructed to create Salum but I don't think it will be as spacious as the one at MR.

The pool at GL Tower 1 was closed, while the pool at GL Tower 4 was heated and had lots of chairs and chaises vacant. The "old" GL pool on the beach was renamed Beach Land and includes the Balche lunch and bar. Look for Alicia, a friendly GL attendant who will reserve seats, umbrellas and towels if you ask her. The large collection of connected Grand Mayan pools are open but not heated. There were lots of chaises around the pool and led water aerobics in the pool. The kiddies park at the end of the wave pool is closed and being rebuilt. The craft shops were all open beside the water slide.
Submitted by Bill Shannon



2021-02-16 When checking in to GL, NV on 1/29/2021 for two weeks, we were met by a sales rep from Vida Lifestyle who told us that he saw that we owned a GM contract and a GL contract and they would like to talk with us about their desire to use the GM contract for lodging of guests at the new park being built, so we said sure. We started with breakfast with Marco. Following breakfast he took us to the newly opened cable car which took us up to the construction of the new park. This was quite interesting as we could see the construction of many underground tunnels to new buildings which eliminate the ground level movement of foodstuffs, supplies, laundry, etc; quite interesting and an excellent view of the expanding property from above. Upon return to his office, he wanted to get us to spend more, which completely turned us off. After saying no several times, he finally stopped harrassing us, but at least said that we would receive the 10% discount. At some point during our conversations, he said that "we had been placed in the wrong suite." implying that we should not have been placed so high up in tower 3. Previously I had been told that the sales reps control who gets what suites, but I don't believe that. All I did was call Vidanta Customer Service a week before we were to arrive and simply said that we have Gold and Charter Member status and would like to be placed in an upper room with either ocean or river view. While I have no doubt that the sales reps have some influence, it should not override contractual rights.


2021-01-31 Hi Bob,
We are in tower 3 with an excellent suite on the 8th floor facing northwest so we look at the plaza market GB, MP and GM. There are many changes in landscape, pools and restaurants to discover. No weekly info booklets, maps or restaurant details so have to use the Vidanta app or a concierge. Few guests in Tower 3 or at pools and fewer kids anywhere.

Our UA flights were less than 1/4 full and on our leg from Houston to PVR we were upgraded to first class, complete with food and wine. More to follow
Bill


2021-01-27
Update from Nuevo Vallarta

Your intrepid correspondence here reporting from PVR. Monday and Tuesday, the past two days, this place emptied out as if there were about to be a major earthquake. There is literally NO ONE here. I would guess it is now at 15%. We had our “update” meeting yesterday, and it was cordial, but it is clear that the US policy regarding testing and re-entrance – at least the fear it creates — has had a devastating effect. One could read it in their eyes, and they are very nervous right now.

We did the cable ride, saw the park and development that is allegedly “3 months ahead of schedule”, but they still did not let us see the estates even though they are technically “open”. No one is staying there. I suppose that Bill Gates can afford to lose millions of dollars in sales, but I’m sure he is not worried at this stage up there in Punta Mita.

We will see just how things change perhaps next week. We are staying in building one, and now I think there might be one other party on the entire floor. Even some of the pools are closed, e.g., all Grand Luxxe pools. They have furloughed most of the concierge and support staff. Most of the entire resort clusters around the new Beach club and pool bar. Only one pool bar open at the Punta. No trouble finding a chair!

Otherwise all is beautiful. It will indeed rise again, but as in California with Gov. Newsom, 95% of this is political and has absolutely nothing to do with anyone’s individual health. I strongly recommend you follow my news blog. We are here and taking some topical ivermectin and nasal carrageenan and, of course, are not wearing masks anywhere due to their uselessness. There were ~ 13 people on the non<x>stop from Minneapolis, by the way.

We may go into Bucerias to search for an open restaurant this week. More later,

CF



2021-01-12 This just published: CDC to require all air travelers to US to show negative coronavirus test

More information to come....




2021-01-09 Just through self quarrantine after a week in Nuevo Vallarta between Christmas and New Years... The entire visit was great although activities were impacted as expected by the pandemic. The staff was working very hard at maintaining the adjusted procedures involving sanitizing, etc. We even upgraded our membership before leaving. However, the stain on what was a great trip was at departure. The exit stations were drastically understaffed and those attempting to make flights and meet travel deadlines in leaving went from patient to panic as they were forced to wait as much as 30 minutes to an hour or more for taxis, luggage retrieval, etc. All attempts at distancing were abandoned and it was the most chaotic experience we've had in our nearly 15 years as members. Disappointing end for what would have been a fantastic week. Be warned and plan an extra hour or even more from the time you arrive at the departure center to actually being on the road to anywhere, and none of that takes into account any other time spent in leaving the property.


2021-01-05 Happy New Year everyone.

We plan to be at the resort in April and heard today that it is possible that the Nayar course may be back to an 18 hole course. I would be interested to see any photos and written updates on the upcoming plans for those on the property this month. Thanks for your help.


Page: 1/6Last Page
123456

What fun!! If you would like to contribute, click on the Post Button
Return to Likes and Offers