T-PS April102017 Midwest General Equity Partners

Midwest General Equity Partners, LLC

April 10, 2017

An Aimfair member raised the following question:
Has anyone had conversations with Midwest Geneal Equity Partners (a private equity firm based in Chicago) regarding the purchase of Grand Luxxe weeks at Nuevo?
No, we had not heard of this group, so we asked a few questions. Here is what we found:
  • First black mark: The name is not listed as a properly registered company with the Illinois Secrtary of State.

  • Second black mark: Domain registration is only for one year, even though the website claims the business started in 2004.

    Registry Domain ID: 2092928109_DOMAIN_COM-VRSN
    Registrar WHOIS Server: whois.launchpad.com
    Registrar URL: LaunchPad.com
    Updated Date: 2017-03-27T02:29:03Z
    Creation Date: 2017-01-25T16:35:09Z
    Registrar Registration Expiration Date: 2018-01-25T16:35:09Z
    Registrar: Launchpad, Inc. (HostGator)

    Registrar IANA ID: 955
    Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited https://icann.org/epp#clientTransferProhibited
    Registry Registrant ID: Not Available From Registry
    Registrant Name: Domain Admin, C/O ID#10760
    Registrant Organization: Privacy Protection Service INC d/b/a PrivacyProtect.org
    Registrant Street: PO Box 16
    Registrant City: Nobby Beach
    Registrant State/Province: Queensland
    Registrant Postal Code: QLD 4218
    Registrant Country: AU

  • Third black mark: The address listed in the website is 566 Historic U.S. 66 Suite 1010, Chicago, IL 60661. The address appears to be on the corner of South Jefferson and West Adams Street in Chicago. The building at that location does not have 10 floors, so it is not likely there is a suite 1010 in the building.
Too many negatives. Chances are this is a scam, so be very careful.

Thank you for brining the name to our attention.
Remember....only YOU can help stamp out Scams...Don't Send Money...
Return to Current News ..OR... Return to Photos and Videos ..OR… Possible Scams